By Mac McLeod,

OCN Sports

For the second straight year, Livingston Academy junior Matthew Sells has been named to the All-District 8, 2A team, joining players from Upperman, Watertown, and York.

Sells, the spark to the Wildcats’ offense with a three-year total of 1,965 points thus far, and at least one playoff game remaining in the season, joins Collin Gore and Alexander Rush from Upperman, Roger Meadows and Noah Smith from York, and Raquan Verge of Watertown on the all-star team. Rush was named the district’s Most Valuable Player.

Livingston sophomore Nick Choate was the only other LA player to place on a team, the third, while seniors Will McDonald and Aubrey Hollars did find spots in the Honorable Mention list.

Second team players included Isaiah Allen from Upperman, Gus Davenport, Cannon County, along with Luke Alexander, Braylee Brooks from Macon County and Q. Hugh Malone from Watertown.

Livingston didn’t place a player on the All-Defensive Team or the All-Freshman squad. Upperman’s Bobby McWilliams shared Coach of the Year honors with York’s Russell Tays.

On the girls side, the best Livingston Academy could do was Keaton Webb and Aleah Melton claiming spots on the district’s third team. Junior Hailey Cronk did place on the Honorable Mention list while Melton was named to the Freshman team along with Hannah Westmoreland.

Heading the All-District team were Jalynn Gregory from Macon County, Reagan Hurst, Upperman, Haley Johnson, York, Brooklyn Crouch, York, and Kadee Ferrell, DeKalb County. Keeley Carter from Macon County was named the district’s Most Valuable Player. Abigail Johnson and Elle Leffew, both from York, were named co-Freshmen of the Year.

Macon County’s Larry White, whose team finished the season undefeated, was named Coach of the Year, and Watertown’s Emma Christensen was tapped Most Improved.