Happy Harvick wins at Michigan

NASCARMedia.com via Getty Images

Kevin Harvick, driver of the No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford, crosses the finish line, notching his second victory of the season in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series at Michigan International Speedway on Sunday.

NASCAR’s Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS) and NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series took on Michigan International Speedway in Brooklyn, MI, this past weekend, while the NASCAR Xfinity Series (NXS) was at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, OH.

Kevin Harvick recovered from an early punctured tire that cost him track position, took the lead on lap 183 of 200, and cruised to his second Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS) triumph of the season on Sunday at Michigan. It was his third win at the 2.0-mile track.

The margin of victory was 1.054 seconds ahead of runner-up Denny Hamlin.

Kyle Larson, Martin Truex Jr. (Stage 1 winner), and Daniel Suarez completed the top 5.

The rest of the top 10 included Kyle Busch (Stage 2 winner), Ryan Preece, William Byron, Chase Elliott, and Alex Bowman.

Harvick, along with Hamlin, Truex, Busch, Elliott, Bowman, Brad Keselowski, Kurt Busch, and Joey Logano have clinched spots in the MENCS Playoffs with wins this season.

There are three races left before the MENCS Playoff field is set. As they stand, Clint Bowyer sits in 16th, the final playoff spot, 6 points ahead of Suarez (17th). Jimmie Johnson (18th) is 12 points below the cutoff line.

MENCS will compete at Bristol Motor Speedway on Saturday, Aug. 17 at 6:30 p.m. (CDT). NBCSN will televise the event. PRN and SiriusXM will provide radio coverage.

After diving to victory for the first time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series (NXS) two weeks ago, pole-sitter Austin Cindric backed up that win this past Saturday at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. He led a dominant 46 laps of the 75-lap event.

Cindric’s margin of victory was 3.780 seconds over second-place finisher Christopher Bell.

AJ Allmendinger placed 3rd, with Tyler Reddick 4th, and Noah Gragson 5th.

With wins this season, Cindric, Bell, Reddick, Cole Custer, Chase Briscoe, and Michael Annett have secured spots in the NXS Playoffs.

NXS will also be at Bristol Motor Speedway, Friday, Aug. 16 at 6:30 p.m. (CDT). NBCSN will televise the race, while PRN and SiriusXM will provide radio coverage.

Austin Hill bookended the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series regular-season after driving to victory in Saturday’s event at Michigan after having won the first race of the season at Daytona.

Grant Enfinger was crowned the regular-season champion for the series.

Sheldon Creed crossed the line 2nd, .125 seconds behind Hill.

Tyler Dippel, Brett Moffitt, and Austin Wayne Self rounded out the top 5.

Since Hill was already locked into the playoffs with his win at the beginning of the season and Enfinger (winless this season) got in based on points, Matt Crafton (winless this season) secured the last spot to make up 8-driver playoff field. The remaining five drivers locked themselves in with wins this season.

The playoff drivers stack up as follows heading into the Gander Truck Series post-season: Moffitt (2022), Enfinger (2019), Stewart Friesen (2014), Hill (2012), Ross Chastain (2012), Crafton (2011), Johnny Sauter (2009), and Tyler Ankrum (2005).

Gander Truck Series also competes at Bristol Motor Speedway on Thursday, Aug. 15 at 7:30 p.m. (CDT). FOX Sports 1 will televise the event. MRN and SiriusXM will provide radio coverage.

NASCAR action returns to Talladega Superspeedway, celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, for its doubleheader NASCAR Playoff weekend, October 11-13. The Sugarlands Shine 250 for the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series will kick off the weekend on Saturday, Oct. 12. The weekend’s anchor event, the 1000Bulbs.com 500 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race, is scheduled for Sunday, Oct. 13. For tickets, or more information, visit www.talladegasuperspeedway.com or call 855-518-RACE (7223)