Commission holds meeting outdoors

Dewain E. Peek/OCN screen shot

Overton County Executive Ben Danner takes a motion from County Commissioner Robbie Melton as the County Commission conducted the October meeting outdoors Monday, Oct. 19.

By Dewain E. Peek,

OCN Staff

Overton County Legislative Body held the regular monthly meeting Monday, Oct. 19, in something other than a regular setting.

With judicial proceedings continuing in the courtroom of Overton County Courthouse past the 5 p.m. starting time for the meeting, County Executive Ben Danner asked the County Commissioners if they wanted to move the meeting to the east side of the courthouse for an outdoors meeting, and no one objected.

The meeting had already been moved back a week from the usual second Monday in the month because of the Columbus Day observance.

A plan for the county to pay the same amount for retirees’ health insurance as for active employees was considered. The retiree must be at least 55 years-old, have worked for the county for 10 years, and have insurance with the county for at least 3 years. This will be effective until the age of Medicare, and is only for county and Highway Department retirees with a date of July 1, 2021 or later.

“We’d also review that annually,” Executive Danner said.

Commissioner Donna Savage made the motion to approve the retiree benefit, and Commissioner Jeff Long seconded. On the vote, Commissioners Savage, Lee Richards, Geraldine Walker, Gregg Nivens, Jean Moore, Long, Robbie Melton, Frank Martin, Gail McCowan, Darwin Clark, Billie G. Phipps, voted yes, and Commissioner Shane Walker passed on the vote. Commissioners Randall Boswell, Jesse Bowman, and Philip Talley were absent.

Approval was given to destroy records according to the CTAS schedule for all offices, as recommended by the Records Committee.

“That’s just records after so many years that we don’t have to keep that we’re going to destroy so that we don’t have to take them all to the new building,” Executive Danner said.

Peggy Clark Smith, Chris Barlow, and Cara Boone were appointed to the Records Committee, as recommended by the Records Committee.

A donation of two basketball goals to I Am Worship Church was approved, as recommended by the Highway & County Property Committee. The goals had been taken out of Joe L. Evins Community Center when it was renovated.

Rita Reagan-Underhill was appointed to the Library Board to replace Ashley White, as recommended by the Library Board.

Jared Brown Lane was taken off the official road list, as recommended by the Highway & County Property Committee. According to Commissioner Clark, the Brown family sold the farm and the new owners want it to be a private drive.

County General Quarterly Reports ending September 30, 2020, were approved, as well as General Fund 101 Amendment #1 and Solid Waste Fund 116 Amendment #1.

A list of items from the Archives was approved to be designated as surplus for disposal. Most of the items were damaged by mold and not salvageable, according to Executive Danner.

The bid of Middle Tennessee Office Equipment, at $39,126.50, was approved for furniture and equipment for the new county services building.

Executive Danner explained that furnishings that could be transferred from current offices to the new building will be used, but this is for furniture and equipment that would still be needed.

““That’s from money left over from the building funds, too,” Executive Danner said. “But we tried to use as much as we could, but we had to buy some things but not everything.”

The bid of Quality Cleaning Service, at $2,800 per month, was approved for cleaning service for the new county services building. The bid includes all chemicals, equipment, and labor.

Cleaning will be five nights per week.

Approval was given for Overton County Ambulance Service Director Jim Morgan to apply for more funds, with no match, from the Provider Relief Fund Phase 3. Commissioner Shane Walker, who is employed by Overton County Ambulance Service, passed on the vote.

The following were approved as notaries at-large: Helen Carter, Heather Ledbetter, Cynthia D. Sells, Christie C. Key, Judy D. Reagan, Lisa Michelle Cook, Jan Walker, Andrea Ayers, William Dale, Tonya S. Reagan, Madison Grace McDonald, and Diane Norrod.

Minutes of the September 14, 2020 meeting were approved after having been corrected.

Before the meeting adjourned, Executive Danner announced that the next regular County Commission meeting will be held Monday, Nov. 9 at 5 p.m. in the courthouse. He gave the commissioners the required 10-day notice that an item on the agenda will be to appoint someone to fill the 1st District School Board vacancy from the recent passing of Diane Sadler. The person appointed will fill the unexpired term through August 2022.

Interested persons must live within the 1st District and have earned a diploma or GED.