By Dewain E. Peek,

OCN Editor

Overton County Commission held the regular monthly meeting Monday, Aug. 12, with Commissioners Randall Boswell and Jesse Bowman absent.

Resolution #2019-0812-01 was adopted to authorize the issuance of general obligation refunding bonds, not to exceed $2,230,000.

Ashley McNulty of Stephens Inc. was on hand to further explain the benefit of these bonds and said this would save about $100,000 over five years.

He said it would cut the interest rate about in half.

“And not extending the debt, not restructuring or anything like that, just keeping approximately the same or less payments each year.”

County Executive Ben Danner said Budget Director Connie York brought the possibility of this savings to his attention.

“A really good savings, that’s after fees and everything, that $100,000 we’re saving,” Executive Danner said.

Commissioner Frank Martin made a motion to adopt the resolution, and Commissioner Philip Talley seconded.

On the vote Commissioners Billie G. Phipps, Darwin Clark, Shane Walker, Gail McCowan, Martin, Robbie Melton, Jeff Long, Jean Moore, Gregg Nivens, Geraldine Walker, Lee Richards, Talley, and Donna Savage all voted yes.

Connie York was approved to continue as Budget Director.

Executive Ben Danner praised how few audit findings have been during her time as Budget Director.

With the passing of Bruce Myers, Michael Savage was approved as Delinquent Tax Attorney, as recommended by County Trustee Peggy Clark Smith.

Executive Danner read a prepared statement into the record to honor Myers, saying, “Bruce Myers did an outstanding job serving as the county’s delinquent tax attorney for over 20 years.”

Savage will fulfill the remainder of Myers’ term, which expires August 31, 2022.

Second and final reading of Non-Profit Resolution 2019-0624-03 was approved. Non-profit appropriations, totaling $145,000, are as follows: Overton County Rescue Squad – $10,100; Volunteer Fire Departments – $103,200; Holland J. Stephens Center for the Prevention of Child Abuse – $2,000; Overton County Chamber of Commerce – $20,000; Retired Senior Volunteer Program – $500; Airport – $7,200; Court Appointed Special Advocates – $2,000.

Ben Danner was appointed as Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) coordinator as a first step in receiving funds to make some of the county buildings ADA compliant.

He said Joe L. Evins Community Center needs to have wider doorways and ADA compliant bathrooms.

“And that’s part of the plan for that building,” Executive Danner said. “The annex, the plan will be that we’re moving out of that building and going into a new building.”

He later gave an update on the new county services building.

“The basement walls are poured,” Executive Danner said. “They’re getting the floor ready in the basement to pour. They hope this Friday to pour it.

“So, when they get that poured, they’re going to start with the walls in the basement for the hallway and the rooms.

“Then, when they get that done, they’ll do the elevator and start putting the decking on there and start bringing the building up. So, that’s when everybody will see the progress coming out of the ground.”

The following were approved as notaries at-large: Cindy Warden, Landan Goforth, Austin Harris, Teia Davis, Samantha Medley, Laura Moore, Reginald Ernest Peeler, Brooke Smith, and Travis Staggs.

Minutes of the June 24, 2019 County Commission meeting were approved.

Before the meeting adjourned, Executive Danner announced that the next County Commission meeting will be held at 5 p.m. Monday, Sept. 9.