Overton County News Overton County News - An Award Winning Newspaper - Livingston, Tennessee
homeabout ussubscriptionskids cornerlocal linkscontact us
80 Years Ago

Archives 03-09-2005



Drive-thru being added to City Hall building
Man pleads guilty in child molestation case
Coleman named to State Wildlife Commission



Drive-thru being added to City Hall building

Dewain E. Peek/OCN staff
Department supervisor Wayne Peek applies caulking to a drive-thru being constructed on the Livingston City Hall building on McHenry Circle. City workers from various departments are building the drive-thru, which will provide more convenience for paying bills owed to the Town of Livingston. The drive-thru will be operational in about a month, according to Mayor Frank Martin.

top of page


Man pleads guilty in child molestation case

By ROBERT FORSMAN, court reporter
An Overton County man charged with Rape of a Child pled guilty last week in Overton County Criminal Court, Judge Leon Burns presiding, to the reduced charge of Attempted Aggravated Sexual Battery.

Roger Lehman, 42, entered the plea as part of a negotiated agreement between Public Defender Art Johnson and Assistant District Attorney Owen Burnett.

Burnett explained that the state was accepting the plea to the lesser charge to prevent a child less than 6 years-old from testifying in court.

Lehman was arrested in June 2004 and has been in jail on a $500,000 bond since that time.

According to the plea agreement, Lehman will serve one year in jail, with credit for time served. He will begin five years supervised probation upon release.

As a convicted sex offender, Lehman will provide a blood sample for DNA identification. His photograph and noted conviction will be placed on the Sexual Offender Registry.

top of page


Coleman named to State Wildlife Commission

Gov. Phil Bredesen has announced a round of appointments he has made to 19 of the state's boards and commissions.

Among those selected to serve was Johnny Fred Coleman, of Livingston, who has been appointed to Tennessee Wildlife Resources Commission.

Gov. Bredesen said, "I'm confident in the leadership these Tennesseans will provide our state's boards and commissions and appreciate the time and service they've committed to the State of Tennessee."

Appointment terms vary based on statutory recommendations or term limits specified by geographic or other qualifications.

Others who have been appointed include: Allan Watson, of Madisonville, who will serve on the Governor's Citizens Corps Advisory Council.

Daniel C. Carter, of Jasper, Sandra L. Kurtz, of Chattanooga, and William P. Magoon, of Ooltewah, all who will serve on the Governor's Council on Greenways and Trails.

Soraya C. Parr, of Fairview, who will serve on the Governor's Council on Fitness and Health.

Mayor Linda C. Elam, of Mt. Juliet, who will serve on the Local Government Planning Advisory Committee.

Gayle S. Barbee, of Nashville, who will serve on the Metro Nashville-Davidson County Community Services Agency Board.

Martha B. Perry, of Pegram, and Judy B. White, of Hartsville, will serve on the Mid-Cumberland Community Services Agency Board.

Richard E. Joost, of Martin, will serve on the Pest Control Board.

Jon G. Roach, of Knoxville, will serve on the Petroleum Underground Storage Tanks Board.

Bridget M. Jones, of Columbia, will serve on the Southern Growth Policies Board and Global Strategies Council.

Jim D. Washburn, of Cookeville, will serve on the State Oil and Gas Board.

Rosie P. Bingham, of Memphis, will serve on the State Workforce Development Board. William R. Johnson, of Murfreesboro, will serve on the Tennessee Commission on Aging and Disability.

Gloria L. Bishop, of LaVergne, will serve on the Tennessee Foreign Language Institute.

Yvonne Davis, of Memphis, will serve on the Tennessee Medical Laboratory Board.

Robbie D. Phillips, of Cookeville, will serve on the Tennessee Suicide Prevention Network.

Michael D. Chase, of Knoxville, and Mike Hayes, of Hornbeak, will also serve on the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Commission.

June M. Barrett, of Johnson City, and Joy K. Patterson, of Nashville, will serve on the Traumatic Brain Injury Advisory Council.

Joyce H. Grissom, of Spencer, and Phyllis M. Knowles, of Smithville, will serve on the Upper Cumberland Community Services Agency Board.

Linda D. Murray, of Nashville, will serve on the Viticulture Advisory Board.

top of page


Overton County News
415 West Main Street
P.O. Box 479
Livingston, Tennessee 38570
tel 931.823.6485
fax 931.823.6486

Printing Supplies Graphic Design Custom Printing Advertising