Overton County News Overton County News - An Award Winning Newspaper - Livingston, Tennessee
homeabout ussubscriptionskids cornerlocal linkscontact us
80 Years Ago

Archives 05-22-2002






Livingston Academy Graduation Held
Qualifying ends for Commission, School Board
Relay For Life to be held at Livingston Academy



Livingston Academy Graduation Held

Livingston Academy graduates of the Class of 2002 celebrate with the traditional toss of the cap at the conclusion of graduation ceremonies held Friday, May 17.

Parents, family, and friends of the 186 graduating seniors gathered in the Livingston Academy gymnasium to watch the class receive their diplomas.

After the invocation by Lance Smith, Class of 2002 valedictorian Bo Byers (pictured beside text) addressed the class. He was followed by salutatorian Stephanie Sullivan. Class president Amy Allred then addressed the class.

Academic awards were announced, followed by sports awards, and awards voted by the teachers Activities, School Spirit, and Most Improved Senior.

David and Sheila Lancaster presented the Tyler Lancaster Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 to Perry Lunsford.

After the presentation of diplomas and the singing of the alma mater, benediction was given by Ben Gore.

The 2002 Livingston Academy graduation ceremony closed with the song World's Greatest by R. Kelly.

top of page

Qualifying ends for Commission, School Board

Qualifying for County Commission and School Board candidates to be in the August 1 Overton County General Election ended Thursday, May 16.

County Commission candidates are as follows:

District 1 E. Alan Atnip, Frank Martin, Jean Moore (all incumbents);

District 2 Stanley Carter Jr. (incumbent), Bernie Copeland Jr., David Dorminey Sr. (incumbent), Billy Parrott, Grant Pennington (incumbent), Michael J. Walker;

District 3 Randall Boswell (incumbent), Shaun R. Hale, Dewayne Hargis, John E. Phillips, Billy L. Sullivan (incumbent);

District 4 Gail Reed Arney (incumbent), Donald Jeff Keyes, Chris Neal, Phillip Talley, Billie G. Phipps (incumbent);

District 5 James E. Barlow, Ben Danner, Gary Hollars, Gregg Nivens (incumbent), Johnie Webb (incumbent). Incumbents not running for re-election are Wayne Ferrell in District 3, Tom Montooth in District 4, and Donnie Bull in District 5.

School Board candidates are as follows:

District 1 Jerry Glasscock (incumbent), Leretha Harris, Paul Allen Terry;

District 2 Dolphus Dial, Russell Gray (incumbent), Pat Huckeby, Renea Stover;

District 3 Lenard Ledbetter;

District 4 David T. Ricketts, Melody Williams (incumbent);

District 5 Michael D. Sullivan, Michele K. Thrasher.

Incumbents who chose not to run for re-election are Larry Looper in District 3 and Milton Raines in District 5.

top of page

Relay For Life to be held at Livingston Academy


Livingston Academy's parking lot will be the site of the 2002 American Cancer Society Relay For Life on Friday, May 31.

The event will kick off at 6 p.m. with a special ceremony. Hundreds of lights of hope will illuminate the premises in honor of loved ones who have fought cancer and in memory of those who have lost their battle with the disease.

For a minimum donation of $10, luminaries may be purchased before the event by calling Pauletta Brady at (931) 823-5611. Purchases may also be made at the event.

Activities will continue throughout the night and into the next morning.

Cancer survivors are urged to participate in the opening victory lap.

Everyone is invited to attend.

top of page






Overton County News
415 West Main Street
P.O. Box 479
Livingston, Tennessee 38570
tel 931.823.6485
fax 931.823.6486


Printing Supplies Graphic Design Custom Printing Advertising