Overton County News Overton County News - An Award Winning Newspaper - Livingston, Tennessee
homeabout ussubscriptionskids cornerlocal linkscontact us
80 Years Ago

Archives 05-15-2002






Second Street sees home burn in blaze
Primaries draw 5,645 voters
General Election deadline is this Thursday
Early voting for Municipal Election set



Second Street sees home burn in blaze

Becky Meredith/OCN staff

A house on 2nd Street, owned by the late Mildred Cook, caught fire around 11:15 a.m. Monday morning. According to reports from Livingston Fire Department, Barbara Franklin was moving her mother's belongings from the home that day. She told officers she was making a pot of coffee when the range caught ablaze. The structure sustained much smoke damage, but Franklin escaped apparently uninjured.

Primaries draw 5,645 votersi

Dewain E. Peek/OCN staff

Overton County's Democrat and Republican primaries drew 5,645 voters to the polls on Tuesday, May 7. The number of voters was more than 1,000 less than the last primary for the Overton County offices of County Executive, Trustee, Sheriff, Circuit Court Clerk, County Clerk, and Register of Deeds.

Kenneth Copeland won the race for County Executive with 3,138 votes. Tom Montooth received 2,101 votes, and Clifford R. Jones received 210 votes.

Copeland carried every precinct except Rushing Springs, Pleasant Valley, and Poteet. Montooth led at Rushing Springs with 81 votes to Copeland's 19, and led at Pleasant Valley with 38 votes to Copeland's 33. Copeland and Montooth tied at 51 at Poteet.

Peggy Clark Smith retained the office of Trustee with an overwhelming 3,432 votes. She had been appointed to the office after James Harold Clark, her father, died in office. At the time of her appointment, she had worked in the office for many years.

Kathy Johnson Smith received 1,112 votes, Dale Day received 729 votes, Marvin K. Allred received 233 votes, and Billy G. Hargis received 172 votes in the Trustee race. Peggy Clark Smith led in every precinct.

Bud Swallows garnered the Democrat nomination for Sheriff with 1,854 votes. Swallows carried every precinct except Livingston Ward II, where Greg Etheredge received 68 votes to Swallows' 54, and Hilham, where Roger Phillips received 110 to Swallows' 107.

Livingston Police Chief Roger Phillips finished second in the race for Sheriff, receiving 912 votes. A close third went to Etheredge with 895 votes. David L. Hunter received 712 votes.

Also receiving votes in the race for Sheriff were Allen D. Loftis with 598 votes, Danny Garrett with 310, Kameron Bates with 291 votes, Danny Killman with 57 votes, and David G. Webb with 29 votes.

Incumbent Kelly Hull was nominated for re-election as Sheriff with 200 votes in the Republican Primary. Write-in challenger Keith Smith received 12 votes.

Swallows will oppose Hull in the Overton County General Election in August.

Incumbents Circuit Court Clerk Johnny Brown, County Clerk Hugh L. Ogletree, and Register of Deeds Franklin D. "PeckÓ Smith all ran unopposed. Ogletree received the most votes for any candidate in the Democrat Primary with 4,719 complimentary votes. Smith received 4,596 complimentary votes, and Brown received 4,387 complimentary votes.

top of page


General Election deadline is this Thursday

Overton County's General Election will be held Thursday, Aug. 1 for the purpose of electing the County Executive, Trustee, Sheriff, Circuit Court Clerk, County Clerk, Register of Deeds, three County Commissioners in each of the five districts, one School Board member for each of the five districts, and any other offices needing filled.

Qualifying deadline for County Commission and School Board candidates, and any other offices to be filled, is Thursday, May 16.

Overton County Election Commission is located in the Courthouse Annex, 317 University Street, Room 45, in Livingston.


top of page


Early voting for Municipal Election set

Early voting for the Town of Livingston Municipal Election will begin Thursday, May 16 and continue through May 30. City voters will be asked to vote on a liquor referendum in the June 5 Municipal Election. The ballot will ask voters to choose whether or not "to permit retail package stores to sell alcoholic beverages in the Town of Livingston."

Also on the ballot are the office of Mayor and three at-large seats for Alderman.

Candidates for Mayor of Livingston are Curtis Hayes and incumbent Hosea Winningham.

Candidates for Livingston Alderman are Sean Allred, Gerald Garrett, incumbent Johnny Halfacre, incumbent Robert D. Jolley, incumbent Thurman Langford, and James Randy Smith.

The Election Office is located in the Courthouse Annex, at 317 University Street, Room 45, in Livingston. Office hours through May 30 for early voting are 8 a.m. to 11 a.m. and noon to 4 p.m. Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday, and 8 a.m. to noon on Wednesday and Saturday. The Election Office will be closed Monday, May 27 in observance of Memorial Day.





Overton County News
415 West Main Street
P.O. Box 479
Livingston, Tennessee 38570
tel 931.823.6485
fax 931.823.6486


Printing Supplies Graphic Design Custom Printing Advertising