Overton County News Overton County News - An Award Winning Newspaper - Livingston, Tennessee
homeabout ussubscriptionskids cornerlocal linkscontact us
80 Years Ago

Archives 08-16-2000



LA Sports Report
Outlaws Preview





LA Sports Report

Lady Wildcats Volleyball
The Livingston Academy Lady Wildcats Volleyball Team will open the 2000 season at Lafayette on Tuesday, Aug. 22 when they take on Macon County at 5:30 p.m.

LA Coach Merl Smith looks to keep last season in the past and make this season a winning one.

"Last year we didn't get out of the district. Of my 19 years of coaching that was only the second time we hadn't been to the sub state. "We're going to get back. We're going to get back.

"We're going to try to win the district. Get to at least the sub state and see what we can do. When you get to the sub state, you've got a chance. Play one good match and you're in the state. That's our goal right now."

The team is made up of three seniors - Letrice Smith, Cory Parsons, and Brandi Dillon; four juniors - Jessica Leach, Renee Melton, Hannah Stafford, and Jenna Baltimore; two sophomores - Althea Allred and Mallory Sells; and three freshmen - Megan Thompson, Kelly Thurman, and Katrina Beechboard.

"We lost five seniors, but we're a little more athletic than we have been," Coach Smith said.

The Lady 'Cats will not be the district favorite as in years past, and will not have an easy run through a strong district. Coach Smith named four teams in particular that will have to be reckoned with in any attempt at district domination.

"Upperman is real strong. They got most of their players back," he said. "Van Buren County got all their players back. Macon County's going to be strong. Jackson County will be."

The Lady 'Cats have been playing preseason games as a tune-up for the regular season, playing the likes of White County, Portland, Upperman, and Brentwood Academy.

"We've been playing pretty well, better than I thought we would," Coach Smith said.


top of page

Outlaws Preview
By Howard Chandler

The Overton County Outlaws are set to open the 2000 campaign in hopes of defending their championship in the Middle Tennessee Youth Football Conference. The Outlaws are coming off an 11-0 season that concluded with a win over Macon County in the Blue Devil Bowl.

The Outlaws, under the direction of Head Coach Curtis Hayes, will attempt to repeat their championship in a league that has now grown to 10 teams, including Overton County, Carthage, Gordonsville, Dekalb County, Jackson County, Pickett County, York, Monterey, Baxter and Clay County.

A preview of the Outlaws and the Junior Outlaws is as follows:

Quarterbacks - The signal calling duties will be handled by either Levi Holt or Daniel Elder. Both players have performed well in pre-season drills according to Coach Hayes.

Runningbacks - Josh Carwile will man the tailback spot while Jake Reeder will be the fullback. Both players will be pushed by a number of other players including tailbacks Jordan Everley and Cody Brown and fullbacks Gary Massengille and Jesse Cole. Also listed as runningbacks are Sam Nelson, Landon Amonette, Sam Garner, and Paul Ragland.

Receivers - John Lucas White and Jonathan Sullivan head a deep list of wide receivers that includes Joe Stansberry, Michael Ledford, Blake Vaughn, Josh Danner, Dustin Cooper, Jordan Bailey, Paul Adkins, Cody Penticuff, and John Michael Stephens.

At tight end, the Outlaws have Anthony Hill and Matt Fletcher.

Offensive Linemen - Several positions are still being contested in the offensive line. Brent Carr and T.J. Kerr are battling for the center position, while Josh Coffee, Devon Ramsey, Brad Pendgraft, and Curtis Beaty are battling for guard positions. The tackle spots are between Ryan Bowman, Cody Prestwood, Tyler Kesty, and Ben Dillon. Also up front are Justin Cobble, David Petry, Cody Adkins, Cody Warren, Matt Dillon, Scott Copeland, Daniel Crabtree, John Willeford, Brett Danner, and Josh Cummings.

Defensive Linemen - The defensive line will feature Jesse Cole at nose tackle, backed by Curtis Beaty and Cody Adkins. the defensive tackles include Ryan Bowman, Tyler Kesty, Cody Prestwood, Brent Carr and Brad Pendgraft, with Devon Ramsey and Josh Coffee also expected to see action, along with Justin Cobble.

Linebackers - Josh Carwile and Jake Reeder are penciled in as the middle linebackers with Jordan Everley, Levi Holt, Paul Ragland, Anthony Hill, and Jonathan Sullivan manning the outside posts.

Secondary - The secondary positions are still up for grabs with safeties Daniel Elder, Sam Nelson, John Michael Stephens, Cody Penticuff, and John Lucas White vying for playing time along with cornerbacks Cody Brown, Jordan Bailey and Landon Amonett.

Junior Outlaws
Quarterbacks - 9 year-old Brannon McCoin and 8 year-old Hayden Hill may each see action at quarterback with the other splitting time at wide receivers.

Runningbacks - Steven Morgan will be the tailback with Adam Wilson likely lining up at fullback. Expected to see playing time as well are Chase Dunn and Ty Eldridge.

Receivers - Josh Espey is expected to line up at one wide receiver position while Hill and McCoin possibilities at the other. Also expected to play wide receivers are Truman Masters, Seth Beaty, Patrick Letner, Kyle Schlachta, and Dylan Ashlock. Anthony Ward will be the tight end.

Offensive Linemen - Lee Gatts will play center and will be flanked by Josh Beaty at right guard, Jacob Parsons at right tackle, and Cory Prestwood at left tackle. Also expected to play up front are Trey Thomas, Josh Norris, Jackson White, Kyle Wright, Josh Long, and Jordan Danner.

Defensive Linemen - The defensive line will include Adam Wilson at one defensive end and Lee Gatts at one tackle. The others hoping for playing time are Josh Norris, Jacob Parsons, Jackson White, Trevor Taylor, Trey Thomas, Cody Barlow, Cody Brewer, Ian Robbins, Dillon Petry, Logan Herran, Nick Cox, and Brandon Pincheon.

Linebackers - The middle linebacker will be Steven Morgan with Chase Dunn and Anthony Ward on the outside. Backups include Ty Eldridge, Lucas Cole, Cory Prestwood, Clint Warren, Lucas Simcox, and J.R. Gaw.

Defensive Backs - A number of players are listed in the secondary, including Josh Espey, Kyle Schlachta, Hayden Hill, Brannon McCoin, Truman Masters, Seth Beaty, Ethan McDonald, Caleb Sells, Stenson Smith, Caleb Robertson, Shawn Barnett, J.R. Wilson, Chris Melton, and Colton Hummel.

7 Year-Olds - Eleven 7 year - olds are members of the squad including Paul Daniels, quarterback; Logan Beaty, runningback; Logan Ramsey, tight end; J.W. Lee, offensive lineman; and wide receivers Carson Bailey, Hunter Dailey, Jordan Simmons, Dustin Harris, Tayler Thompson, Kyle Lee, and Paxton Eldridge.



top of page

Pass, Punt, Kick Contest Set At LA


Overton County News
415 West Main Street
P.O. Box 479
Livingston, Tennessee 38570
tel 931.823.6485
fax 931.823.6486

top of page




Printing Supplies Graphic Design Custom Printing Advertising