Overton County News Overton County News - An Award Winning Newspaper - Livingston, Tennessee
homeabout ussubscriptionskids cornerlocal linkscontact us
80 Years Ago

Archives 06-28-2000



Girls 16-Under League Winners Announced
Babe Ruth Tournament Winners Announced
Two Teams Reach 10 Wins In Men's League
Minor League Winners Announced
Local Talent Wins At Shoot Fest



Girls 16-Under League Winners Announced

Tournament Champion of the Overton County Girls 16-Under League, and 3rd place in the regular season with a 6-4 record, is the Livingston Ready Mix team of Cory Parsons, Brandy Dillon, Samantha Copeland, standing, Lora Brady, Amber Gentry, coach Tom Stephens, Tatum Stephens, Ferran Stephens, coach Roger Brady, Kile Cope, coach Renee Stover, Danielle Smalling, Chelsie Stover, Morgan Gantt and Amber Handy.

Overton County Girls 16-Under League season champion for the third year is the Farm Bureau team of Candy Brown, Terra Smith, Kala Gilpatrick, Kayla Henson, Lacey White, Michelle Speck, Heather Clark, Ashley Hall, coach Randy Wilson, Stacey Wilson, coach Robbie Robbins, Tabitha Robbins, coach Billy White, Casey Emerton, Kristen Coleman, Coty Hunter. Farm Bureau went 8-2 in the regular season.

Tournament runner-up of the Overton County Girls 16-Under League is the First National Bank team of Rachael Titus, Jessica Savage, Brittany Smith, Sarah Jowers, Heather Shoemake, Rachael Meadows Andrea Borden, coach Rick Savage, Samantha Sidwell, LeeAnn Thompson, coach Steve Vaughn, Beth Hogue, Emily Vaughn, coach Danny Jowers, Rachel Barlow Angie Atkins, and Brandy Shelley.

Overton County Girls 16-Under League season runner-up is the Upper Cumberland Sports team of Megan Bowman, Amanda Mihelic, Aspen Allen, Heather Harris, Tiffany Poston, Lorina Bohorfoush, coach Crystal Hayes, Mallory Sells, Tiffany Lovelace, April Nolen, Rachel Baker, Terri Thrasher, and coach Kelly Collins.

Placing 3rd in the Overton County Girls 16-Under League Tournament is the Civitan team of Whitney Walker, Shelly Lackey, Kim Dillon, Sarah Maynord, Lorianne Carr, Kara Dial, Kasey Vaughn, Thea Danner, coach Wayne Dillon, Cassie Thomas, Betsy Jolley, Heather Walker, Chrissy Guffey, coach Barbara Vaughn, and coach Phil Walker.

top of page

Babe Ruth Tournament Winners Announced

Union Bank is the Babe Ruth Tournament champion for 2000. Team members are Chad Simpson, Michael Murphy, Paul Robbins, Matt Geesling, Chris Nelson, Coach McKay, Anthony Scott, Patrick McKay, Robert McKay, Barry Lee, Matt Rooker, Cody King, and Coach Barlow.

D&D Carpet Shop is the Babe Ruth Tournament runner-up for 2000. Team members are Chad Moody, Jeremy Sells, Jimmy Davidson, John Maynord, Whitney Coleman, coach Johnny Cyrus, James Cox, John Ward, Phillip Young, Daniel Clark, Todd Rose, Cody Melton, Johnny Cyrus, and coach Rick Coleman.

top of page

Two Teams Reach 10 Wins In Men's League

Johnny Painter takes a hard swing at the ball.


Huckeby Construction and Lynn's Shoes/Jolley Farms both reached the 10 win mark with last week's continuance of the Overton County Men's Softball League after a week of rain. Game scores from last week are as follows:

Wednesday, June 21

W.E. Sports/Maxwell 13, Crossville Ford 3
West End Sports/Gary Maxwell Insurance - Steve Barlow 3 for 3 with a home run, Randy Wilson 3 for 3, John Brooks 3 for 3, and Mark Lee 3 for 3. Crossville Ford - Greg McDonald 2 for 2, and Chris Ledbetter 2 for 3.

Lynn's/Jolley Farms 24, Huckeby Construction 23
Lynn's Footwear/Jolley Farms - John Reagan 5 for 6 with 2 home runs, Jerry Arms 5 for 6, Jeff Flowers 5 for 6, Johnny Painter 5 for 6, and Matt Jolley hit a home run. Highways Inc. vs. Witt/Berkline was rained out.

Thursday, June 22
Lynn's/Jolley Farms 21, Crossville Ford 7
Lynn's Footwear/Jolley Farms - Johnny Painter 4 for 4 with a home run, John Reagan 4 for 4, Billy Joe Norrod 3 for 3, Jeff Flowers 3 for 3, and James Robbins hit a home run. Crossville Ford - Chris Ledbetter 3 for 3, Greg McDonald 3 for 3, and Greg Arnold 2 for 2.

Huckeby Construction 10, W.E. Sports/Maxwell Ins. 8
Huckeby Construction - Tracy Welch 2 for 3, Bruce Dixon 2 for 3, Gerald Ferrell 2 for 3, and Chris Story hit a home run. West End Sports/Gary Maxwell Insurance - Scott Barlow 4 for 4 with 2 home runs, Mark Meadows 4 for 4, Eddie Dailey 3 for 4, David Moore 3 for 4, and Steve Boles hit a home run.

Witt/Berkline 19, D&R Paving 11
Witt/Berkline - Russell Whattenburg 4 for 5, Jeff Hammock 4 for 5, Randy Gore 3 for 4, David Jackson 3 for 5, and Terry Conner 3 for 5. D&R Paving - Ray Lee 4 for 4, Perry Morgan 4 for 4, and Scott Stowe 3 for 4.

Top 10 Batting Avg. (35 or more at-bats)
Johnny Painter, Lynn's/Jolley .850
Steve Arms, Lynn's/Jolley .756
Jerry Arms, Lynn's/Jolley .682
Scott Stowe, D&R Paving .682
John Reagan, Lynn's/Jolley .679
Jeff Flowers, Lynn's/Jolley .673
Terry Kingery, Witt/Berkline .650
Perry Morgan, D&R Paving .647
Mark Meadows, W.E.Sports .647
Josh Coffman, D&R Paving .642

Home Run Leaders (6 or more)
Jason Vaughn, D&R Paving 9
Eric Mitchell, Lynn's/Jolley 9
Steve Arms, Lynn's/Jolley 8
Chris Hunter, Highways Inc. 8
Andy Parsons, Huckeby Const. 7
Waylon Ledbetter, Huckeby Const. 7
Chris Story, Huckeby Const. 7
Matt Jolley, Lynn's/Jolley 6

Men's Softball Standings W L
Huckeby Construction 10 3
Lynn's Footwear/Jolley Farms 10 4
Witt/Berkline 8 4
West End Sports/Maxwell Ins. 8 6
D&R Paving 5 9
Highways Inc. 3 8
Crossville Ford 1 11

top of page

Minor League Winners Announced
Champion of the Overton County Minor League Tournament is the First National Bank team of Jonathon Melton, Austin Maynord, Jake Smith, Brandon McDonald, Justin Savage, Marshall Cannon, Tre Thomas, Josh Wilson, Cody Christensen, Devon Walker, coaches Doug Savage, Larry McDonald, Billy Walker, Tony Cannon, and Dale Wilson.

Regular Minor League season champion and runner-up in the Overton County Minor League Tournament is the Holt's Family Pharmacy team of Carson Dailey, Tracey McDonald, Dillon Winningham, Adam Wilson, Paxton Eldridge, Heyden Hill, Colby Reeder, Hunter Garrett, Ty Eldridge, Jacob Collins, Kailen Melton, coaches Damita Hill, Kelly Hill, and Mark Houser.

Minor League regular season runner-up is the Co-Op team of Brian Bass, Calob Wilson, Joshua Wilson, Austin Reed, Micah Bilbrey, Logan Moore, Adam Dodson, Colby Boykin, Jared Garrett, Justin Schebel, Cody Stafford, and, not pictured, Austin Bledsoe, coaches, Robert Reid, Keith Bass, Ricky Dodson, Tim Schebel, Charlie Dial, and Richard Boykin.

top of page

Local Talent Wins At Shoot Fest
Maranda Stockton from Livingston was the winner in the Air Rifle event at the recent Summer Shoot Fest at the Bend of the River. She shot 357. Stockton was also the winner in the three- position Smallbore Rifle with 523.

The B-B Gun competition had the most contestants. The winner was Wrenda Curd from Livingston with 361. Second was Elena Lee from Monterey with 332 +3 centers. Jonathan Lee from Monterey was the first in the 12-13 year-olds with 332-2 centers.

First in the 11-12 year-olds was Heather Reeder from Livingston with 326. Emily Looper from Monroe was first in the 9 year-olds with 247.

The Bend of the River 'Possums were the first team with 1308. The 'Possum team was composed of Steve Violet, Brenda Violet, Jonathan Lee and Bekim Haliti.

First in the Trap event was Ray Garrett from Livingston with 41.

The next match at Bend of the River is a high power rifle match on July 9. The next pistol match is July 16.

For more information contact Charlie Pardue at (931) 526-1136 or 515 West Broad St., Cookeville, TN 38501 or cpardue@multipro.com.

Overton County News
415 West Main Street
P.O. Box 479
Livingston, Tennessee 38570
tel 931.823.6485
fax 931.823.6486

top of page




Printing Supplies Graphic Design Custom Printing Advertising