Overton County News Overton County News - An Award Winning Newspaper - Livingston, Tennessee
homeabout ussubscriptionskids cornerlocal linkscontact us
80 Years Ago

Archives 08-09-2000




Prayer Walk 2000 Deemed Successful
Voters Reject Appointed School Board Members
Child Dies In Four-Wheeler Accident



Prayer Walk 2000 Deemed Successful

Participants of Prayer Walk 2000, sponsored by the Overton County Ministerial Association, gathered for prayer and devotion before beginning their walk around A.H. Roberts Elementary School, one of eight locations, on Saturday, Aug. 5. Ronald Whited, above, blew the shophar to sound the beginning of the first lap, and again at the start of the seventh and final lap. According to Donald Cobb, First Baptist Church pastor, the shophar is a ram's horn that was used in the Old Testament to call people to special occasions.

"Although fewer than last year, we had several people to participate and those who did, enjoyed it. We had one 82 year old lady who walked six times around Rickman, and was probably our oldest participant," Cobb said.


top of page


Voters Reject Appointed School Board Members
By Dewain E. Peek

Four of five appointed school board members were defeated in the Thursday, Aug. 3 Overton County General Election. The one remaining ran unopposed.

On Tuesday, March 30, 1999, the Overton County Legislative Body officially expanded the Overton County Board of Education to 10 members and officially appointed James Hunter, Donald Wells, Tommy Simcox, Melody Williams, and Melvin Johnson to the School Board. At the time, many in the county wanted the voters to decide who would represent them in the new positions. Last week the county's voters had a say. Melody Williams, who ran unopposed, will be the only one returning in September.

The School Board part of the election had two seats up for election in the 1st District, a four-year term and a two-year term.

David H. Langford was re-elected to a four-year term with 574 votes to challenger Randy Goodman's 374. Goodman carried Livingston Ward II with 106 votes to Langford's 73, but Livingston Ward I gave Langford 182 votes to 96, and Ward III was too close at 56 for Langford and 52 for Goodman.

For 1st District's two-year term, Jerry Glasscock was narrowly voted in over Allan Terry with 370 votes to Terry's 335. Livingston Ward II made a difference for Glasscock who carried the ward 83 to 67 over Terry. Incumbent appointee Jim Hunter was a distant third in the voting with 192.

A four-year term was open in the 2nd District. Joey Smith received approximately 70 percent of the vote in defeating incumbent appointee Donald Wells, 656 votes to 295. Smith carried all three precincts.

A four-year term was also open in the 3rd District. Edith R. Key won over incumbent appointee Tommy Simcox with 364 votes against 281. Simcox won in Alpine and Rushing Springs, but Key was too strong in Wilson where she garnered 211 votes to Simcox's 76.

The 4th District had a four-year term and a two-year term open.

Chairman Donald Brown was re-elected to a four-year term with 296 votes to challenger Gary Gilbert's 189. Brown carried all three voting precincts.

Incumbent appointee Melody Williams received 160 complimentary votes in her unopposed bid.

The 5th District elected Tim Coffee to a four-year term in place of incumbent appointee Melvin Johnson. Coffee received approximately 73 percent of the district's votes, carrying all three precincts.

In the Highway Superintendent race, Democrat incumbent Joe Garrett was re-elected with a narrow margin, 2,167 to Republican challenger Charles "Chig" Parrott's 1,843. Parrott was strong in Monroe and Fairgrounds voting, but Garrett won in all other precincts.

Unopposed Assessor of Property Larry King received 2,484 votes of confidence.

In the State Democratic Primary, which along with the State Republican Primary was held along with the Overton County General Election, State Representative John Mark Windle received 2,628 confidence votes, State Senator Lincoln Davis received 1,996 complimentary votes, and 6th District Congressman Bart Gordon received 2,253 complimentary votes.

Overton County voters preferred John Jay Hooker for U.S. Senate with 803 votes to nearest challenger Jeff Clark's 419. Clark narrowly took the nomination over Hooker in statewide voting.

In the State Republican Primary, U.S. Senator Bill Frist received 456 complimentary votes, and 12th Senatorial District nominee Ralph G. Deporter received 254 complimentary votes.

Overton County voters preferred David Charles 207 to 127 over Eleanor Gibbs for the right to face Bart Gordon in the November election. David Charles won the nomination statewide also.

The election drew 4,366 Overton County voters, approximately 37 percent.

top of page

Child Dies In Four-Wheeler Accident

Information provided by Pickett County Press

Authorities were dispatched to Eagle's Nest Drive around 10:20 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 5 in response to a 911 call regarding a four-wheeler accident.

Upon arrival, Pickett County Deputy Tim "Elmo" Booher found that two men and the 8 year-old daughter of one of the men had all been riding a Honda Foreman ES all-terrain-vehicle and had apparently veered off the roadway and struck a four-strand barbed wire fence.

Eight year-old Rayvin Rauch suffered fatal injuries and died at the scene, according to reports.

Her father, Robert Rauch, 33, of Norcross, GA, apparently received only minor cuts.

Jai Anthony Husband, 28, of Atlanta, GA, reportedly sustained several cuts and abrasions. Pickett County Sheriff Robert Stockton and Deputy Brian Franklin, along with a Tennessee State Trooper responded to the scene.

Pickett County EMS dispatched three ambulances. The injured were taken to Livingston Regional Hospital.

Authorities said the young girl had been visiting her grandparents, Frank and Hazel Rauch of Byrdstown.



Overton County News
415 West Main Street
P.O. Box 479
Livingston, Tennessee 38570
tel 931.823.6485
fax 931.823.6486


Printing Supplies Graphic Design Custom Printing Advertising